Shopify Plus vs Shopify

On November 24, 2023 by Lukas Schmidt

Shopify Plus vs Shopify

What is Shopify Plus and how does Shopify Plus differ from the classic Shopify e-commerce platform?

We explain the differences and reveal which functions Shopify Plus provides for your company and what the respective advantages are.

The most important things at a glance

Shopify Plus at a glance:

  • Shopify Plus is an advanced e-commerce solution for large companies with additional features compared to Shopify.

Differences between Shopify and Shopify Plus:

  • Shopify is for smaller businesses, while Shopify Plus is for businesses of all sizes.
  • Higher costs for Shopify Plus can be offset by lower transaction fees for large companies.
  • Shopify Plus offers individual support, customization options in the code and extended functions.

When it's worth switching:

  • Switching to Shopify Plus can make sense when the company reaches a turnover level of around USD 800,000 per year.
  • Other reasons for the change include high sales figures, stable operations during peak loads, international expansion, personal contact, customization of the customer journey and automation of processes.

How did Shopify Plus come about?

Shopify has established itself as one of the top dogs when it comes to providing small and medium-sized companies with a well-functioning online store. Shopify already serves more than one million stores as a store system. 

However, one group is not taken into account. After a certain size, Shopify reaches its limits. As many companies that use Shopify have also grown with the platform, a solution had to be found. This is how Shopify Plus was born, the store system for big players.

What is Shopify Plus?

Shopify Plus is Shopify's scalable e-commerce solution for fast-growing retailers and large companies in the B2C and B2B sectors.

Shopify Plus is intended to serve all those who have reached their limits with the conventional Shopify plans. Shopify has thus managed to offer the right solution for every possible online retailer.

Shopify Plus therefore offers some functions that are particularly helpful for large companies. The Plus version went live in the USA back in 2014. It finally made it to Germany in 2020.

Companies such as Red Bull, Gymshark and Kylie Cosmetics rely on the enterprise e-commerce solution from Canada and are prime examples of outstanding online stores.

Shopify Plus vs. Shopify, Golden Web Age GmbH

What are the differences between Shopify and Shopify Plus?

The most important differences at a glance:

  • Target group: Shopify is designed for small and medium-sized companies, while Shopify Plus can serve companies of any size.
  • Prices: Shopify costs vary between USD 29 and USD 299 per month. Shopify Premium starts at USD 2000 and can rise to USD 40,000 depending on turnover.
  • Fees: Although the monthly fixed costs are higher, the transaction fees are lower. Shopify Plus can therefore even be cheaper for large companies.
  • Support: With Shopify Plus, you have your own support team, including a launch engineer who will help you set up and migrate your store. In addition, every Shopify Plus customer is assigned their own account manager who acts as a contact person.
  • Customization: Shopify Plus also offers more options here, even the code in the background can be customized.
  • Employee accounts: While the basic plan only allows a limited number of employee accounts, Shopify Plus allows an unlimited number.
  • Functions: Shopify Plus already offers many standard functions that need to be extended in Shopify through apps.
Shopify Plus vs. Shopify, Golden Web Age GmbH

When is it worth switching to Shopify Plus?

Since the only reason not to switch from Shopify Basic to Shopify Plus is the price, we want to give you an overview of when it's worth switching.

Although the questions about the store's turnover are obvious, they can only be used to determine whether it is worth switching to Shopify Plus on an individual basis. 

A threshold of USD 800,000 per year can be used as a guideline. If your company is in this range, you should calculate the figures in more detail.

However, there are other points that speak in favor of switching to Shopify Plus, as Shopify may limit your growth. We have summarized classic restrictions for you. 

#1 You sell large quantities

Since the transaction costs are lower with Shopify Plus, it can be worth switching to the Enterprise version from a certain sales volume onwards. While you pay between 0.5% and 2.0% for transaction fees with Shopify, you are significantly cheaper with Shopify Plus at just 0.25% (excluding Shopify Payments). Incidentally, this can also be a reason to switch from another store system to Shopify Plus, as running costs are generally cheaper here.

#2 Your store should remain stable even in exceptional situations

Whether it's Black Friday, Christmas or promotions, many visitors mean a high server load. Your online store must be able to withstand these exceptional situations, otherwise you will lose money. This shouldn't be a problem with Shopify Plus, which can handle up to 11,000 checkouts per minute. So you can be sure that every one of your paying customers will be served.

#3 You want to position your company internationally

Another reason for Shopify Plus can be the up to 10 different stores that can be created here. This means that completely separate stores with their own domain can be created for different countries and thus better adapted to the respective country, its culture and language. Nothing stands in the way of international growth.

#4 You need a personal contact person

Another very helpful feature of Shopify Plus is the Merchant Success Manager, your personal contact who knows your company inside out and can therefore help you with problems faster and better.

#5 You want a completely personalized customer journey

Shopify already offers a lot of freedom in terms of design and also lets you create individual designs. However, some areas such as the shopping cart are still limited. With Shopify Scripts, the user experience can now be personalized here as well. Shopify scripts are small code modules that can be easily implemented in your store. This can be done directly in the Shopify environment, making automation and tweaking very easy. 

#6 You plan to plan ahead and automate

With Shopify Plus, you get a powerful planning tool with Shopify Launchpad. Launchpad offers a comprehensive solution for predictive planning and automation. This function not only enables the targeted forward planning of product releases and marketing campaigns, but also automates the entire store management.

With Launchpad, you can ensure that your products go online exactly when it suits your marketing strategy best. From precisely planned sales campaigns to strategic store changes - everything can be automated efficiently. Integration with other apps from the Shopify App Store expands the possibilities to further optimize your online presence and automate processes at the same time.

So if you don't just want to react, but proactively plan ahead and automate certain processes, the Shopify Launchpad is the ideal addition to your e-commerce strategy. It allows you to exploit the full potential of your online business.

Switching to Shopify Plus, it's that easy

If you want to switch from Shopify to Shopify Plus, you can easily do this via the settings in Shopify. To do this, click on Settings ⇨ Plan ⇨ Change plan and select Shopify Plus. The update will take place within the next 24 business hours and you will be notified by email as soon as the transfer is complete.

Conclusion

With Shopify Plus, the Canadian company has created an effective solution for large companies. More than 7,000 online stores already rely on the enterprise solution. Shopify has thus opened up a whole new market and can now offer the right store system for any size of company.

So if your company is of a certain size or you want to scale your online store and are looking for the right platform, then Shopify Plus may be the right solution for you. As a Munich-based Shopify agency, we already support many companies that offer their products on the Canadian platform. If you have any questions about Shopify Plus and Shopify, you can contact us at any time.

Do you need support for a project?
Book a free initial consultation now

Shopify Plus vs. Shopify

Am 24. November 2023 von Lukas Schmidt

Shopify Plus vs. Shopify

Was ist Shopify Plus und wie unterscheidet sich Shopify Plus von der klassischen E-Commerce-Plattform Shopify?

Wir klären dich über die Unterschiede auf und verraten, welche Funktionen dir Shopify Plus für dein Unternehmen liefert und was die jeweiligen Vorteile sind.

Das wichtigste auf einen Blick

Shopify Plus im Überblick:

  • Shopify Plus ist eine erweiterte E-Commerce-Lösung für große Unternehmen mit zusätzlichen Funktionen im Vergleich zu Shopify.

Unterschiede zwischen Shopify und Shopify Plus:

  • Shopify ist für kleinere Unternehmen, während Shopify Plus für Unternehmen jeder Größe geeignet ist.
  • Höhere Kosten für Shopify Plus können durch niedrigere Transaktionsgebühren bei großen Unternehmen ausgeglichen werden.
  • Shopify Plus bietet individuellen Support, Anpassungsmöglichkeiten im Code und erweiterte Funktionen.

Wann sich der Wechsel lohnt:

  • Ein Wechsel zu Shopify Plus kann sinnvoll sein, wenn das Unternehmen ein Umsatzniveau von etwa 800.000 USD pro Jahr erreicht.
  • Weitere Gründe für den Wechsel sind hohe Verkaufszahlen, stabiler Betrieb bei Spitzenbelastungen, internationale Expansion, persönlicher Ansprechpartner, Anpassung der Customer Journey und Automatisierung von Abläufen.

Wie kam es zu Shopify Plus?

Shopify hat sich als einer der Platzhirsche etabliert, wenn es darum geht, kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen einen gut funktionierenden online Shop zu ermöglichen. Mehr als eine Million Shops dient Shopify bereits als Shopsystem. 

Eine Gruppe wird dabei aber außer Acht gelassen. Denn ab einer gewissen Größe stößt Shopify an seine Grenzen. Da auch viele Unternehmen, die Shopify nutzen, mit der Plattform gewachsen sind, musste eine Lösung gefunden werden. So wurde Shopify Plus geboren, das Shopsystem für große Player.

Was ist Shopify Plus?

Shopify Plus ist die skalierbare E-Commerce Lösung von Shopify für wachstumsstarke Händler und Großunternehmen im B2C und B2B-Bereich.

Shopify Plus soll alle bedienen, die mit den herkömmlichen Shopify Plänen an ihre Grenzen stoßen. Damit hat Shopify es geschafft, für jeden möglichen online Händler die richtige Lösung anzubieten.

Deshalb bietet Shopify Plus einige Funktionen, die für große Unternehmen besonders hilfreich sind. Die Plus Version ging in den USA bereits 2014 live. 2020 hat sie es letztendlich auch nach Deutschland geschafft.

Unternehmen wie Red Bull, Gymshark und Kylie Cosmetics setzen auf die Enterprise E-Commerce Lösung aus Kanada und sind Paradebeispiele für hervorragende online Shops.

Shopify Plus vs. Shopify, Golden Web Age GmbH

Was sind die Unterschiede zwischen Shopify und Shopify Plus?

Die wichtigsten Unterschiede auf einen Blick:

  • Zielgruppe: Shopify ist für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen ausgelegt, Shopify Plus hingegen kann Unternehmen jeglicher Größe bedienen.
  • Preise: Die Kosten von Shopify variieren zwischen 29 und 299 USD pro Monat. Shopify Premium startet ab 2000 USD und kann je nach Umsatz auf bis zu 40.000 USD steigen.
  •  Gebühren: Zwar sind die monatlichen Fixkosten höher, die Transaktionsgebühren dafür aber geringer. Bei großen Unternehmen kann Shopify Plus also sogar günstiger sein.
  • Support: Bei Shopify Plus hast du deinen eigenen Support, inklusive Launch Engineer, der bei der Einrichtung und Migration des Shops hilft. Außerdem bekommt jeder Shopify Plus Kunde einen eigenen Account Manager, der als Ansprechpartner gilt.
  • Anpassung: Auch hier bietet Shopify Plus mehr Optionen, selbst der Code im Hintergrund kann angepasst werden.
  • Mitarbeiterkonten: Während der Basisplan nur eine begrenzte Anzahl an Mitarbeiterkonten ermöglicht, sind diese bei Shopify Plus unbegrenzt.
  • Funktionen: Shopify Plus bietet bereits viele Standardfunktionen, die in Shopify durch Apps erweitert werden müssen.
Shopify Plus vs. Shopify, Golden Web Age GmbH

Wann lohnt sich der Wechsel zu Shopify Plus?

Da einzig der Preis gegen den Wechsel von Shopify Basic zu Shopify Plus spricht, wollen wir hier eine Übersicht geben, wann sich der Wechsel lohnt.

Zwar ist die Fragen nach dem Umsatz des Shops offensichtlich, doch kann damit nur individuell ermittelt werden, ob sich ein Wechsel zu Shopify Plus lohnt. 

Als Richtwert kann eine Schwelle von 800.000 USD pro Jahr herangekommen werden. Befindet sich dein Unternehmen in diesem Bereich, solltest du die Zahlen einmal genauer durchrechnen.

Es gibt aber noch andere Punkte, die dafür sprechen auf Shopify Plus zu wechseln, da Shopify eventuell dein Wachstum einschränkt. Wir haben klassische Einschränkungen einmal für dich zusammengefasst. 

#1 Du verkaufst große Stückzahlen

Da die Transaktionskosten bei Shopify Plus geringer sind, kann es sich ab einer bestimmten Verkaufsmenge bereits kostentechnisch lohnen, auf die Enterprise Variante umzusteigen. Während du bei Shopify zwischen 0,5% und 2,0% für Transaktionsgebühren zahlst, bist du bei Shopify Plus mit nur 0,25% (ausgenommen Shopify Payments) deutlich günstiger. Das kann übrigens auch ein Grund sein, um von einem anderen Shopsystem zu Shopify Plus zu wechseln, laufende Kosten sind hier generell günstiger.

#2 Dein Shop soll auch in Ausnahmesituationen stabil bleiben

Egal ob Black Friday, Weihnachten oder Werbeaktionen, viele Besucher bedeuten eine hohe Serverauslastung. Dein online Store muss diesen Ausnahmesituationen standhalten, sonst verlierst du bares Geld. Das sollte mit Shopify Plus kein Problem sein, denn hier können bis zu 11.000 Check-outs pro Minute durchlaufen. Damit kannst du dir sicher sein, dass jeder deiner zahlenden Kunden bedient wird.

#3 Du möchtest dein Unternehmen international aufstellen

Ein weiter Grund für Shopify Plus können die bis zu 10 verschiedenen Shops sein, die hier erstellt werden können. Damit können für verschiedene Länder ganz eigene Shops mit eigener Domain erstellt werden und so auf besser auf das jeweilige Land, dessen Kultur und Sprache angepasst werden. Internationalem Wachstum steht damit nichts mehr im Weg.

#4 Du benötigst einen persönlichen Ansprechpartner

Ebenfalls ein sehr hilfreiches Feature von Shopify Plus ist der Merchant Success Manager, der als Dein persönlicher Ansprechpartner dein Unternehmen genau kennt und so schneller und besser bei Problemen helfen kann.

#5 Du willst ein komplett personalisierte Customer Journey

Zwar bietet Shopify bereits sehr viel Freiheiten bei Design und lässt dich auch individuelle Designs erstellen. Einige Bereiche wie der Warenkorb sind aber noch immer limitiert. Durch Shopify Scripts kann jetzt auch hier die Benutzererfahrung personalisiert werden. Shopify Scripts sind kleine Codebausteine, die einfach in deinem Shop implementiert werden können. Dies kann direkt in der Shopify-Umgebung erfolgen, was Automatisierung und Tweaking sehr einfach macht. 

#6 Du hast vor vorauszuplanen und zu automatisieren

Bei Shopify Plus, bekommst du mit Shopify Launchpad ein leistungsstarkes Planungstool. Das Launchpad bietet eine umfassende Lösung für vorausschauende Planung und Automatisierung. Diese Funktion ermöglicht nicht nur die gezielte Vorausplanung von Produktveröffentlichungen und Marketingkampagnen, sondern automatisiert auch die gesamte Shop-Verwaltung.

Mit dem Launchpad kannst du sicherstellen, dass deine Produkte genau dann online gehen, wenn es für deine Marketingstrategie am besten passt. Von präzise geplanten Verkaufsaktionen bis hin zu strategischen Shop-Veränderungen – alles lässt sich effizient automatisieren. Die Integration mit anderen Apps aus dem Shopify App Store erweitert die Möglichkeiten, um deine Online-Präsenz weiter zu optimieren und gleichzeitig Abläufe zu automatisieren.

Wenn du also nicht nur reagieren, sondern proaktiv vorausplanen und bestimmte Abläufe automatisieren möchtest, ist das Shopify Launchpad die ideale Ergänzung für deine E-Commerce-Strategie. Es ermöglicht dir, das volle Potenzial deines Online-Geschäfts auszuschöpfen.

Zu Shopify Plus wechseln, so einfach geht’s

Wenn du von Shopify zu Shopify Plus wechseln möchtest, geht das ganz einfach über die Einstellungen in Shopify. Klicke dazu auf Einstellungen ⇨ Plan ⇨ Plan ändern und wähle Shopify Plus aus. Das Update erfolgt in den nächsten 24 Geschäftsstunden und du wirst per E-Mail benachrichtigt, sobald die Übertragung abgeschlossen ist.

Fazit

Mit Shopify Plus hat das kanadische Unternehmen eine effektive Lösung für große Unternehmen erschaffen. Mehr als 7.000 Onlineshops vertrauen bereits auf die Enterprise Lösung. Damit hat Shopify einen ganz neuen Markt erschlossen und kann nun das Richtige Shopsystem für jede Unternehmensgröße anbieten.

Sollte dein Unternehmen also eine gewisse Größe haben oder aber du willst deinen online Shop skalieren und suchst nach der richtigen Plattform, dann kann Shopify Plus unter Umständen die richtige Lösung für dich sein. Als Münchner Shopify Agentur betreuen wir bereits viele Unternehmen, die auf der kanadischen Plattform ihre Produkte anbieten. Bei Fragen zu Shopify Plus und Shopify kannst du uns jederzeit kontaktieren.

Sie benötigen Unterstüzung für ein Projekt?
Jetzt kostenlose Erstberatung buchen