Landing pages for Shopify and other e-commerce platforms: How to create them

Luke

Lukas Schmidt, August 31, 2023

Landing pages for Shopify and other e-commerce platforms: How to create them

Reading time: 5 minutes

Whether it's Shopify, Shopware or other e-commerce platforms, landing pages are among the most popular marketing strategies. As a Shopify agency, Golden Web Age specializes in the largest e-commerce platform, so in this article I want to go into the specifics of a Shopify landing page. However, every e-commerce store owner should get their money's worth here. In conclusion, you'll know how to build a landing page that converts.

What is a landing page in e-commerce?

A landing page in e-commerce serves exactly one goal, the conversion. That is, a landing page is good when as many customers as possible complete your set conversion goal. That's why landing pages are also known as "landing pages".

The conversion does not necessarily have to be the purchase of your product. For example, you can set the goal to get sign-ups for your newsletter. Any goal is legitimate as long as it serves your business.

Are product pages landing pages?

Product pages are not landing pages, even though they are often linked. The biggest difference is that a landing page always comes with a clear CTA (call-to-action). Also, there is not as much information as in a Product Page. It's more about evoking emotions.

Also, a landing page is more aligned with a planned marketing campaign, while a product page is more ehre optimized for search engines.

Why should you create a Shopify landing page?

Shopify landing pages are considered an important marketing tool to optimize the conversion of your e-commerce business. With different landing pages, you have many options to determine the sweet spot of your target audience. Ultimately, good Shopify landing pages ensure that more customers convert. 

Here are the main reasons why online stores should take advantage of landing pages. 

  • Ease of creation: the clearly defined use case of a landing page makes it much easier to create than a full website.
  • Scalability: Once you have found the formula for success for your online store, you can save the layout as a template and quickly create many landing pages for different goals.
  • Personalization: You can customize each of your Shopify landing pages to match your ad campaign. With custom images and CTAs, you can increase the activity of your ads.
  • Testability: A/B tests are also possible with landing pages. This way you can compare results and use the findings to optimize the UX/UI until the conversion rate satisfies you.
  • Segmentation: Tracking allows you to direct returning customers to landing pages that are of interest to them in a segmented way.
  • Increased conversion rate: At the end of the day it's always about a conversion rate increase, by setting up landing pages correctly you will see a lush increase in your conversion. By the way, we are happy to help with all processes related to landing pages in e-commerce
Landing pages for Shopify and other e-commerce platforms: How to create them, Golden Web Age GmbH

How do you create a landing page on Shopify?

  • Log in to Shopify 
  • Go to the "Online Store" section
  • Click on "Pages" in the drop-down menu 
  • Click on "Add page
  • Now you can design your landing page

The most important elements of a Shopify landing page

  • Headline: Your headline should succinctly state the main benefit of your offer.
  • Subheading: It provides additional insight into the offer.
  • Body text: Detailed information should be provided here to convince users to accept your offer.
  • Visual media: To make the page appear more professional, images, videos or diagrams should be integrated. Images can also evoke emotions and highlight special product features.
  • Lists: Lists can be used to clearly present the benefits of your offer.
  • Testimonials: Customer testimonials give your landing page a trustworthy impression, which can increase the conversion rate.
  • Call-to-action: A landing page always needs a clear call to action. 
  • Lead form: If the landing page aims to collect contact information from visitors, a form should be ready for them to enter their information. 

What are the different types of landing pages?

There are many different landing pages, but they can be roughly divided into two categories. One is click-through pages and the other is opt-in pages.

The click-through page

Click-through pages aim to make a product, event or special promotion tasty for customers. At the end, there is usually a simple call-to-action button that directs users to the product in question.

This variant is mostly used in e-commerce stores and can sometimes significantly increase the success of online campaigns.

The opt-in page

With opt-in pages, the goal is usually to gain the contact information of visitors. Probably the best known opt-in page for Shopify stores is a landing page for the newsletter. Customers can then be segmented via email and directed to click-through pages with products that are of interest to them.

Landing pages for Shopify and other e-commerce platforms: How to create them, Golden Web Age GmbH

8 tips for better Shopify landing pages

From our experience, we can deduce certain points that lead to a better converting landing page. Here are the most important tips to make your Shopify landing page optimal.

#1 The headline decides the success

With the attention span getting shorter and shorter due to social media, it is important to convince the customer right at the first glance. That's why the headline needs to grab attention and arouse interest. This is where you should spend most of your time, you can also compare different headlines with A/B testing.

#2 Make it short

A landing page is not a blog post. You need to briefly and concisely tell potential customers why you can solve a problem for them. Keep the page clear and avoid long blocks of text. It is recommended to work with bullet points and bold formatting. 

#3 Compact and fast

It is also important that the landing page loads quickly. Every second that passes during loading makes potential customers bounce. Therefore, the images should not be too large. Compression and modern formats, such as WEBP, also help to reduce file sizes.

#4 Purposeful design

Of course, the visual appearance also plays an important role. This not only ensures a good first impression, but also has a supporting effect on the target conclusion. Here, it is important to cleverly combine proven design rules with the corporate design.

#5 Rich Content

Nowadays, it's often no longer enough to convince with great pictures. A professional product video brings the greatest success with young buyers. With videos, it is also important to consider the short attention span, otherwise prospective buyers will jump off.

#6 make your USP clear

The USP (Unique Selling Point) is the unique selling proposition that differentiates your product from that of other sellers. This must be made clear on the landing page. Often the USP is only the branding, then you have to bind customers emotionally to your brand.

#7 Solve the problem

A good landing page always shows customers a problem and then explains how the following product can solve that problem.

#8 Social Proof

People find it easier to trust a brand or product when they see that customers already do. That's why a Shopify landing page should include product reviews and comments from satisfied customers that inspire trust.

Conclusion: Shopify landing pages bring you closer to your goals

I hope the overview of landing pages in e-commerce has brought you some new insights and you can now get started with the first pages. To really get started, you naturally need some experience, but this only comes through constant trial and error.

Feel free to check out our Shopify Beginner's Guide, where you'll find all the basics you need to know about running a successful Shopify store.

If the Shopify store is already running, it is a good idea to outsource the marketing to an online marketing agency in order to concentrate on the core competencies. Golden Web Age can help you with this, contact us for a no-obligation consultation.

If you have no experience with Shopify yet, you can now test Shopify for 3 months for only 1€/month.

Try Shopify for 3 months for only 1€/month!

Luke

Luke Schmidt

Senior SEO Consultant

As an SEO expert and content marketing manager, Lukas successfully increases the visibility of our clients in Google. He shares his in-depth knowledge of online marketing, SEO, e-commerce and Shopify on the Golden Web Age blog.

Do you need support for a project?
Book a free initial consultation now

Landing Pages für Shopify und andere E-Commerce Plattformen: So erstellst du sie

Am 31. August 2023 von Lukas Schmidt

Landing Pages für Shopify und andere E-Commerce Plattformen: So erstellst du sie

Egal ob Shopify, Shopware oder andere E-Commerce Plattformen, Landing Pages zählen zu den beliebtesten Marketingstrategien. Da sich Golden Web Age als Shopify Agentur auf die größte E-Commerce-Plattform spezialisiert hat, will ich in diesem Artikel auf die Besonderheiten einer Shopify Landing Page eingehen. Allerdings sollte hier jeder Betreiber eines E-Commerce Shops auf seine Kosten kommen. Abschließend wirst du wissen, wie du eine Landing Page aufbaust, die konvertiert.

Was ist eine Landing Page im E-Commerce?

Eine Landing Page im E-Commerce dient genau einem Ziel, der Conversion. Das heißt, eine Landing Page ist dann gut, wenn so viele Kunden wie möglich dein festgelegtes Conversion-Ziel abschließen. Deshalb sind Landing Pages auch als “Zielseiten” bekannt.

Dabei muss die Conversion nicht zwangsweise der Kauf deines Produktes sein. So kannst du zum Beispiel als Ziel festlegen, Sign-ups für deinen Newsletter zu bekommen. Jedes Ziel ist legitim, solange es deinem Unternehmen dient.

Sind Produktseiten Landing Pages?

Produktseiten sind keine Landing Pages, auch wenn sie oft miteinander verknüpft sind. Der größte Unterschied besteht darin, dass eine Landing Page immer mit einem klaren CTA (Call to Action) ausgestattet wird. Auch sind nicht so viele Informationen vorhanden wie bei einer Produkt Page. Es geht mehr darum, Emotionen zu wecken.

Außerdem ist eine Landing Page eher auf eine geplante Marketing Kampagne abgestimmt, während eine Produktseite ehre auf Suchmaschinen optimiert wird.

Warum solltest du eine Shopify Landing Page erstellen?

Shopify Landing Pages gelten als wichtiges Marketing Tool, um die Conversion deines E-Commerce Unternehmens zu optimieren. Mit unterschiedlichen Zielseiten hast du viele Möglichkeiten, um den Sweetspot deiner Zielgruppe zu bestimmen. Letztlich sorgen gute Shopify Landing Pages dafür, dass mehr Kunden konvertieren. 

Hier sind die Hauptgründe, weshalb sich Online Shops Landing Pages zunutze machen sollten. 

  • Einfache Erstellung: Durch den klar definierten Use Case einer Landing Page ist diese viel einfacher zu erstellen, als eine komplette Website.
  • Skalierbarkeit: Hast du einmal die Erfolgsformel für deinen Online Shop gefunden, kannst du das Layout als Template speichern und so schnell viele Landing Pages für verschiedene Ziele kreieren.
  • Personalisierbarkeit: Du kannst jede deiner Shopify Landing Pages genau an deine Werbe-Kampagne anpassen. Mit speziell abgestimmten Bildern sowie CTA erhöhst du die Aktivität deiner Werbemaßnahmen.
  • Testbarkeit: Auch A/B-Tests werden durch Landing Pages möglich. So kannst du Ergebnisse gegenüberstellen und mit den Erkenntnissen die UX/UI optimieren, bis die Conversion Rate dich zufriedenstellt.
  • Segmentierung: Tracking ermöglicht dir, wiederkehrende Kunden segmentiert auf für Sie interessante Landing Pages zu leiten.
  • Erhöhte Conversion Rate: Letztendlich geht es immer um eine Conversion Rate Erhöhung, durch das richtige Aufsetzen der Landing Pages wirst du eine üppige Erhöhung deiner Conversion sehen. Übrigens helfen wir gerne bei sämtlichen Prozessen rund um Landing Pages im E-Commerce
Landing Pages für Shopify und andere E-Commerce Plattformen: So erstellst du sie, Golden Web Age GmbH

Wie erstellst du eine Landing Page bei Shopify?

  • Logge dich bei Shopify ein 
  • Gehe auf die Sektion “Online Store”
  • Klicke im Dropdown-Menü auf “Seiten” 
  • Klicke auf “Seite hinzufügen”
  • Jetzt kannst du deine Landing Page gestalten

Die wichtigsten Elemente einer Shopify Landing Page

  • Überschrift: Deine Überschrift sollte den Hauptnutzen deines Angebotes prägnant darstellen.
  • Unterüberschrift: Sie bietet zusätzliche Einblicke in das Angebot.
  • Fließtext: Hier sollten ausführliche Informationen bereitgestellt werden, um die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer davon zu überzeugen, dein Angebot anzunehmen.
  • Visuelle Medien: Um die Seite professioneller erscheinen zu lassen, sollten Bilder, Videos oder Diagramme integriert werden. Bilder können zudem Emotionen wecken und besondere Produktmerkmale hervorheben.
  • Listen: Listen können dazu dienen, die Vorteile deines Angebotes anschaulich darzustellen.
  • Testimonials: Durch Kundenreferenzen verleiht deine Landing-Page einen vertrauenswürdigen Eindruck, was die Conversion-Rate erhöhen kann.
  • Call-to-Action: Eine Landing Page benötigt immer eine klare Handlungsaufforderung. 
  • Lead-Formular: Wenn die Landing Page darauf abzielt, Kontaktdaten von Besucherinnen und Besuchern zu erfassen, sollte ein Formular bereitstehen, in das sie ihre Informationen eingeben können. 

Welche Arten von Landing Pages gibt es?

Es gibt eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Landing Pages, im groben lassen sie sich aber in zwei Kategorien einteilen. Zum einen Click-Through-Pages und zum anderen Opt-In-Pages.

Die Click-Through-Page

Click-Through-Pages haben das Ziel, den Kunden ein Produkt, Event oder Sonderaktion schmackhaft zu machen. Am Ende befindet sich meist ein einfacher Call to Action Button, der die Nutzer auf das jeweilige Produkt weiterleitet.

Diese Variante findet meist in E-Commerce Shops Anwendung und kann den Erfolg von Online Kampagnen zum Teil deutlich erhöhen.

Die Opt-in-Page

Bei Opt-in-Pages ist das Ziel meistens, die Kontaktdaten von Besuchern zu gewinnen. Die wohl bekannteste Opt-in-Page für Shopify Shops stellt eine Landing Page für den Newsletter dar. Per E-Mail können Kunden dann segmentiert auf Click-Through-Pages mit für sie interessanten Produkten geleitet werden.

Landing Pages für Shopify und andere E-Commerce Plattformen: So erstellst du sie, Golden Web Age GmbH

8 Tipps für bessere Shopify Landing Pages

Aus unseren Erfahrungen lassen sich gewisse Punkte ableiten, die zu einer besser konvertierenden Landing Page führen. Hier sind die wichtigsten Tipps, um deine Shopify Landing Page optimal zu gestalten.

#1 Die Überschrift entscheidet über den Erfolg

Mit der durch Social Media immer kürzer werdenden Aufmerksamkeitsspanne ist es wichtig, den Kunden gleich auf den ersten Blick zu überzeugen. Deshalb muss die Überschrift Aufmerksamkeit erregen und Interesse wecken. Hiermit solltest du die meiste Zeit verbringen, du kannst auch verschiedene Überschriften mit A/B-Testing miteinander vergleichen.

#2 Mache es kurz

Eine Landing Page ist kein Blogbeitrag. Du musst potenziellen Kunden hier kurz und prägnant vermitteln, warum du ein Problem für sie lösen kannst. Halte die Seite übersichtlich und vermeide lange Blöcke von Text. Es empfiehlt sich, mit Bulletpoints und fetter Formatierung zu arbeiten. 

#3 Kompakt und schnell

Ebenfalls ist es wichtig, dass die Landing Page schnell lädt. Jede Sekunde, die beim Laden vergeht, lässt potenzielle Kunden abspringen. Deshalb sollten die Bilder nicht zu groß dimensioniert sein. Auch helfen Komprimierung und moderne Formaten, wie WEBP, bei der Reduzierung der Dateigrößen.

#4 Zielführendes Design

Natürlich spielt auch die Optik eine wichtige Rolle. Diese sorgt nicht nur für einen guten ersten Eindruck, sondern wirkt unterstützend für den Zielabschluss. Hier gilt es bewehrte Designregeln mit dem Corporate Design klug zu verbinden.

#5 Rich Content

Heutzutage reicht es oft nicht mehr, mit tollen Bildern zu überzeugen. Ein professionelles Produktvideo bringt den größten Erfolg bei jungen Käufern. Auch bei Videos gilt es, die kurze Aufmerksamkeitsspanne zu beachten, sonst springen Interessenten ab.

#6 mach deinen USP deutlich

Der USP (Unique Selling Point) ist das Alleinstellungsmerkmal, welches dein Produkt von dem anderer Verkäufer unterscheidet. Dieser muss durch die Landing Page klar werden. Oft ist der USP auch nur das Branding, dann musst du Kunden emotional an deine Marke binden.

#7 Löse das Problem

Eine gute Landing Page zeigt Kunden immer ein Problem auf und erklärt im Anschluss, wie das folgende Produkt diese Problem lösen kann.

#8 Social Proof

Menschen tun sich leichter, einer Marke oder einem Produkt zu vertrauen, wenn sie sehen, dass es bereits Kunden gibt. Deshalb sollte eine Shopify Landing Page Produktbewertungen und Kommentare von zufriedenen Kunden enthalten, die Vertrauen erwecken.

Fazit: Shopify Landing Pages bringen dich deinen Zielen näher

Ich hoffe, der Überblick über Landing Pages im E-Commerce hat dir einige neue Erkenntnisse gebracht und du kann jetzt mit den ersten Seiten loslegen. Um richtig durchstarten zu können, braucht es natürliche etwas an Erfahrung, diese kommen aber nur durch stetiges Ausprobieren.

Schaue dir hierzu auch gerne unseren Shopify Einsteiger Guide an, dort findest du alles Grundlegende, was du über einen erfolgreichen Shopify Store wissen musst.

Läuft der Shopify Shop schon, bietet es sich an, das Marketing an eine Online-Marketing-Agentur outzusourcen, um sich auf die Kernkompetenzen zu konzentrieren. Hierbei kann dich Golden Web Age unterstützen, kontaktiere uns gerne für einen unverbindlichen Beratungstermin.

Falls du noch keine Erfahrung mit Shopify hast, kannst du Shopify jetzt 3 Monate lang für nur 1€/Monat testen.

Teste Shopify 3 Monate lang für nur 1€/Monat!

Sie benötigen Unterstüzung für ein Projekt?
Jetzt kostenlose Erstberatung buchen